CEA
CEA, Direction des Applications Militaires
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
Home / Collaborations / Exascale computing
   
November 2009
CEA, GENCI, Intel and the University of Versailles
Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines are investing in a
European laboratory for research on exascale computing

Les ordinateurs exascale seront 1000 fois plus rapides que les supercalculateurs actuels.
cea

CEA, GENCI (Grand Equipement National de Calcul intensif) - the French national high-performance computing organisation, Intel Corporation and the University of Versailles at Saint Quentin-en-Yvelines have finalised their cooperation agreement to set up an Exascale computing research laboratory. This laboratory, a member of the Intel European research network, will address the technological challenges related to designing computers which can provide a performance 1000 times greater than the most powerful computers currently available.

CEA, GENCI and UVSQ will share the funding of this laboratory together with Intel. This will represent an investment of several million euros over a period of five years.  This public private partnership combines the strong vision of French participants in scientific computing, the academic software expertise of the sector and the knowledge of Intel.

This laboratory is both the outcome and continuation of the agreement made in 2005 between Intel and the CEA-DAM as part of the TERA project. "The creation of this joint laboratory bringing together CEA, the University of Versailles Saint-Quentin, GENCI and INTEL is a major step towards the implementation of the policy which aims to consolidate, in Europe, a capacity to design and produce these large machines which are key to research, services, industrial innovation and the global security of our fellow citizens. INTEL is the world's leading supplier of processors for a large range of uses and these are essential components for future very-high performance computers. By bringing together these developers of hardware and software components, architects and users, the laboratory will open the door to the production of machines achieving exaflop performance (one billion billion operations per second) while being energy efficient" explained Bernard Bigot, CEA Chairman.

The activities of the laboratory include the exploration of the challenges related to the integration of multi-petaflop systems, the optimisation of software performance and a collaboration between the developers and users of large systems, in order to optimise applications. The energy, seismology, fluid dynamics and health sectors are involved in this collaboration. The emergence of the Exascale will make possible the resolution of complex problems which are currently impossible to solve with a reasonable time to solution. It will for instance be possible to propose customised health treatments based on a calculation of the patient's genome.

“By anticipating future technologies linked to the exascale, this laboratory will allow us to better prepare the tools required by French and European research in order to guarantee its competitiveness on the world stage. The high-power machines that are planned both at the national and European level in the years to come address this goal directly" emphasised Catherine Rivière, President of GENCI.

For Intel, this is the first laboratory in Europe dedicated to high-performance computing. It will strengthen the investments and research programmes of Intel in this sector.
"France has a leading position in research on high-performance computing in Europe" explains Steve Pawlowski, General Manager and Senior Fellow, Intel Central architecture and planning. "We have chosen these three organisations because of the international level of their skills in software, in exascale studies and in high-performance computing".

           
This laboratory will set out with a team of around a dozen experts and will develop rapidly over time with the inclusion of new projects. It will start up in the buildings of the University of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines and then plans to join the Ter@tec campus.            
           

"The contribution of UVSQ will focus on large scale performance optimisation tools, in an application environment dedicated to exascale. The tight coupling between the hardware and application platforms is a major challenge for this laboratory, and a field where the expertise of the UVSQ is widely recognised both at the national and international levels" commented Sylvie Faucheux, President of the UVSQ.
This laboratory resolutely aims to fit into the European scene whilst also collaborating in projects launched by the competitiveness clusters, taking part in French and European research programmes and developing specific collaborations with industrial companies.

           

Joint press release by Intel, CEA, GENCI and University of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines.

Read more : http://www.exascale-computing.eu/

 


C

CEA
CEA, Direction des Applications Militaires
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
Accueil / Collaborations / Exascale computing
   
19 Novembre 2009
Le CEA, GENCI, Intel et l’Université de Versailles
Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines investissent dans un laboratoire
européen de recherche sur l’Exascale

Les ordinateurs exascale seront 1000 fois plus rapides que les supercalculateurs actuels.
cea

Le CEA, le Grand Equipement National de Calcul intensif (GENCI), Intel Corporation et l’université de Versailles Saint Quentin-en-Yvelines ont finalisé leur coopération pour la mise en place d’un laboratoire de recherche Exascale. Ce laboratoire, membre de réseau Européen de recherche Intel, a pour but de relever les défis technologiques liés à la réalisation d’ordinateurs proposant un niveau de performance mille fois supérieur aux ordinateurs actuels les plus puissants.

Ensemble, le CEA, GENCI et l'UVSQ se partageront avec Intel le financement de ce laboratoire qui représentera un investissement de plusieurs millions d’euros sur une période de cinq ans. Ce partenariat public privé associe une vision forte des acteurs français du calcul scientifique, l’expertise académique logicielle de ce secteur et le savoir d’Intel.

Ce laboratoire est l’aboutissement et la pérennisation de l’accord passé en 2005 entre Intel et le CEA-DAM dans le cadre du projet Tera. « La création de ce laboratoire commun réunissant le CEA, l’Université de Versailles Saint-Quentin, la société GENCI et INTEL, premier fournisseur mondial de processeurs à un large spectre d’utilisations, composants essentiels des ordinateurs de très grande puissance du futur, est une étape majeure dans la mise en œuvre de la politique qui a pour objet de pérenniser, en Europe, une capacité à concevoir et produire ces grands équipements clés pour la recherche, les services, l’innovation industrielle et la sécurité globale de nos concitoyens. En associant développeurs de composants matériels et logiciels, architectes et utilisateurs, elle ouvre la porte à la réalisation de machines d’une puissance exaflopique (un milliard de milliard d’opérations par seconde) et économes en énergie » indique Bernard Bigot, Administrateur général du CEA.

L’activité du laboratoire inclut l’exploration des défis liés à l’intégration de systèmes multi-pétaflopiques, l’optimisation des performances logicielles et une collaboration avec les développeurs et les utilisateurs de grands systèmes, orientée vers l’optimisation des applications. L’énergie, la sismologie, la dynamique des fluides et la santé font partie des secteurs retenus pour cette collaboration. L’émergence de l’Exascale permettra la résolution de problèmes complexes, impossibles à traiter actuellement dans un laps de temps raisonnable. En santé, il pourra être possible de proposer un traitement individualisé grâce au calcul du génome d’une personne.

“En anticipant les futures technologies liées à l’Exascale, ce laboratoire va nous permettre de mieux préparer les outils nécessaires à la recherche française et européenne afin de garantir sa compétitivité à l’échelle mondiale. Les machines de grande puissance que nous planifions tant au niveau national qu’au niveau européen pour les années à venir concourent directement à ce but» souligne Catherine Rivière, Présidente du GENCI.

Ce laboratoire est pour Intel le premier laboratoire en Europe dédié au calcul intensif. Il vient renforcer les investissements et les programmes de recherche Intel sur ce secteur.

« La France a une position de leader dans la recherche sur le calcul intensif en Europe » indique Steve Pawlowski, General Manager and Senior Fellow, Intel Central architecture and planning. « Nous avons choisi ces trois entités en raison de leurs compétences logicielles de niveau mondial en Exascale et en calcul intensif »

Ce laboratoire démarre autour d’une équipe d’une douzaine d’experts et se développera rapidement au fur et à mesure de l’inclusion de nouveaux projets. Il est d’abord installé dans les locaux de l’université de Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines et prévoit de rejoindre ensuite le campus de Ter@tec.

« La contribution de l'UVSQ se concentrera sur les outils d'optimisation de performance, dans un environnement applicatif tourné vers l'Exascale. Le couplage étroit entre les plateformes matérielle et applicative est une problématique majeure de ce laboratoire, et un thème ou l'expertise de l'UVSQ est largement reconnue tant au niveau national qu’international » commente Sylvie Faucheux, Présidente de l’UVSQ.

L’objectif de ce laboratoire est de s’inscrire résolument dans une perspective européenne en coopérant aux projets lancés par les pôles de compétitivité, aux programmes de recherche français et européens tout en développant des collaborations spécifiques avec les industriels.

Communiqué commun Intel, CEA, Genci, Université de Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines

En savoir plus : http://www.exascale-computing.eu/

 


C