CEA
CEA, Direction des Applications Militaires
HomeComputing centersSoftware for HPCResearch and developmentCollaborations
Computing centers / Tera

 

Tera

As part of its Simulation programme, the Military Applications Division of the CEA is undertaking a project known as Tera. The project is being run in three stages (2001, 2005 and 2010) and aims to provide the simulation resources required for the design and guaranteed operation of nuclear weapons without testing.

At the end of 2001, the first stage, Tera-1, led to installation of a 5-teraflop supercomputer manufactured by HP.

At the end of 2005, the second stage, Tera-10, led to the installation of a 60-teraflop supercomputer manufactured by Bull. This step was performed alongside by an adaptation of the infrastructure of the defence computing centre as well as a complete update of the storage and archiving systems, networks and visualisation hardware.

Since October 2010, the third step Tera-100 provides the CEA/DAM with more than 1 Petaflop of computing power. Since July 2009, a demonstrator model has been installed and used in order to validate the use of the program codes.



 

 

 

 

 

 

flbRead more about Tera 100

flbInterview
T100

  • J. Gonnord, Director of Computer Simulation and IT Project at CEA/DAM
  • P. Leca, Director of Simulation and Information Sciences Department at CEA/DAM
  • The Tera computing centre is made up of computers, very high-capacity data storage systems, high flow communications networks and post-processing and visualisation equipment, etc. These resources are put in place whilst paying constant attention to improving energy efficiency and environmental impact.

    1 Teraflop = one thousand billion operations per second
    1 Petaflop = one million billion operations per second

     

     
     


     

    Building the architecture for HPC

    Controlling data flow

     

    Towards a very high bite rate network

     

    Optimizing energy consumption

CEA
CEA, Direction des Applications Militaires
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
Complexe de calcul / Tera

Tera

 

Dans le cadre de son programme Simulation, la Direction des applications militaires du CEA  a défini un projet, nommé Tera, en trois étapes (2001, 2005, 2010) visant à disposer des moyens de simulation nécessaires à la conception et à la garantie des armes nucléaires sans essais.

La première étape Tera-1, a abouti à l’installation fin 2001 d’un supercalculateur de 5 Teraflops fourni par le constructeur HP.

 

La deuxième étape Tera-10, a abouti fin 2005 à l’installation d'un supercalculateur de 60 Teraflops fourni par le constructeur Bull. Cette étape a aussi conduit à une adaptation des infrastructures du centre de calcul défense ainsi qu’à une rénovation complète des systèmes de stockage, d’archivage, des réseaux et des dispositifs de visualisation.

 

La troisième étape Tera-100, permet depuis octobre 2010 au CEA/DAM de disposer d’une puissance de calcul de plus d'1 Petaflops. Depuis juillet 2009, un démonstrateur est installé et utilisé pour valider le portage des codes.



 

 

 

 

 

 

flbPour en savoir plus sur Tera 100

flbInterview
T100

  • J. Gonnord, Chef du projet simulation numérique et informatique au CEA/DAM
  • P. Leca, Chef du département des sciences de la simulation et de l'information au CEA/DAM
  •  

    Le centre de calcul Tera est constitué de calculateurs, de systèmes de stockage de données de très grande capacité, de réseaux de communications haut débit et d’équipements de post-traitement et de visualisation… L’ensemble de ces moyens est mis en œuvre dans un souci constant d’amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique et de l’impact environnemental.

    1 Teraflops = mille milliards d'opérations par seconde
    1 Petaflops = un million de milliards d'opérations par seconde

     
     


     

    Bâtir des architectures pour le HPC

    Maîtriser les flux de données

     

    Disposer de réseaux à très haut débit

     

    Optimiser la consommation d'énergie