CEA
HPC Calcul haute performance
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
 
Research and developement / HPC Technologies

HPC Technologies

The following major R&D themes have been identified for HPC:

  • Cluster architecture, from the compute nodes to the integration of the cluster in the computing center, including the topology of the interconnecting network.
  • Grid technologies.
  • The parallel programming libraries.
  • The parallel file systems and associated storage.




 Lustre technologies

The CEA/DAM is a "Lustre Center of Excellence". The functionalities developed within the centre are:

  • The life of data within Lustre. The CEA/DAM has developed the support for the OST Pool (available in Lustre 1.8) and leads the Lustre HSM project (Hierarchical Storage Management). The goal of this project is to set up an infinite storage space within Lustre by connecting to external archiving systems (see HSM_Migration).
  • Lustre management tools. The CEA/DAM is developing a Lustre configuration and management tool in collaboration with Bull: Shine.
  • Use of Lustre over long distance networks. The CEA/DAM is investigating sharing data between various computer centres via a file system. This experiment is being undertaken as part of the Carriocas project.

 

 Grid technologies

Computational grids are virtual infrastructures that take advantage of the computing power of resources distributed across different areas (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grid_computing).

In the framework of the PRACE and DEISA projects, the CEA/DAM contributes to the development of grid services that offer a common view and allow a seamless access to supercomputers distributed across European computing centers. Main "grid" topics spotted in CEA/DAM R&D are:

  • Architecture of services that bridge the user workstation world to the supercomputer world. These services cover the interactive access to the supercomputers, the job submission and the data transfer.

  • Middlewares to access resources available within the grid.

The CEA/DAM contributes to the UNICORE middleware (www.unicore.eu). UNICORE (Uniform Interface to Computing Resources) provides a Grid system including client and server software. The CEA/DAM is member of the UNICORE Forum (www.unicore.eu/forum/) and of the UNICORE Technical Advisory Board. Examples of feature that have been developed:

  • High-Availability on UNICORE components. The CEA/DAM has developed, in collaboration with FZJ (www.fz-juelich.de/jsc/), the load-balancing feature between multiple TSI components as well as the SSL-encryption of communications between UNICORE/X and TSI components (available in UNICORE 6.3).

  • Usage of an LDAP directory to check user access rights, via an authorization plug-in for the UNICORE/X component.

The CEA/DAM has also studied methodologies to access grid resources based on a Kerberos authentication mechanism (fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kerberos) with an X.509 certificate credential. A PAM module using the Kerberos PKINIT extension has been developed and enables a seamless connection to Kerberos-based sites via GSI-SSH: pam_pkinit (sourceforge.net/projects/pam-pkinit/).

CEA
HPC Calcul haute performance
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
 
Recherche et développements / Technologies HPC

Technologies HPC

Les principales thématiques HPC identifiées dans le cadre de la R & D sont les suivantes :

  • L’architecture du cluster depuis le nœud de calcul jusqu’à l’intégration du cluster dans le centre de calcul, en passant par la topologie du réseau d’interconnexion.
  • Les technologies de "grille".
  • Les bibliothèques de programmation parallèle.
  • Les systèmes de fichiers parallèles et le stockage associé.




 Technologies Lustre

Le CEA/DAM est un "Lustre Center of Excellence". Les fonctionnalités développées dans le cadre de ce centre sont :

  • Vie des données dans Lustre. Le CEA/DAM a développé le support des OST Pool (disponible dans Lustre 1.8) et réalise le projet Lustre HSM (Hierarchical Storage Management). Le but de ce projet est d'implémenter un espace de stockage infini dans Lustre en le connectant a des systèmes d'archivages externes (voir HSM_Migration).
  • Outils de gestion de Lustre. Le CEA/DAM développe en collaboration avec Bull un outil de configuration et de gestion de Lustre : Shine.
  • Utilisation de Lustre sur des réseaux longue distance. Le CEA/DAM expérimente le partage de données via un système de fichiers entre différents centres de calcul. Cette expérience est faite dans le cadre du projet Carriocas.

 

 Technologies Grille

Les grilles de calcul sont des infrastructures virtuelles exploitant la puissance de calcul de ressources informatiques distribuées géographiquement.
(fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grille_informatique)

Dans le cadre des projets PRACE et DEISA, le CEA/DAM participe à l'élaboration des services de grille offrant un accès standardisé/uniformisé aux utilisateurs des calculateurs répartis dans les différents centres de calcul européens. Les principales thématiques "grille" identifiées dans le cadre la R&D sont les suivantes:

  • L'architecture des services, formant la grille, depuis le poste de travail de l'utilisateur, jusqu'à l'intégration aux calculateurs. Ces services recouvrent la connexion interactive aux calculateurs, la soumission de calcul ainsi que le transfert de données.

  • Les intergiciels (composants logiciels) d'accès aux ressources de la grille.

Le CEA/DAM contribue à l'intergiciel UNICORE (www.unicore.eu). UNICORE (Uniform Interface to Computing Resources) offer un system de grille incluant logiciel client et serveur. Le CEA/DAM est membre de l'UNICORE Forum (www.unicore.eu/forum/) ainsi que de l'UNICORE Technical Advisory Board. Quelques exemples de fonctionnalités développées:

  • Mise en haute disponibilité des composants UNICORE. Le CEA/DAM a développé, en collaboration avec le FZJ (www.fz-juelich.de/jsc/), la répartition de charge entre plusieurs composants TSI ainsi que le chiffrement SSL des communications entre les composants UNICORE/X et TSI (disponible dans UNICORE 6.3).

  • Utilisation d'un annuaire LDAP pour vérification des droits d'accès des utilisateurs, via un module d'autorisation pour le composant UNICORE/X.

Le CEA/DAM a étudié plus particulièrement la sécurisation des accès aux ressources de la grille. Dans ce but, nous avons expérimenté « Kerberos » (fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kerberos) comme mécanisme d'authentification pour les utilisateurs munis d'un certificat X.509. Un module PAM utilisant l'extension Kerberos PKINIT a été développé et offre une connexion transparente via GSI-SSH aux sites Kerberisés: pam_pkinit (sourceforge.net/projects/pam-pkinit/).