CEA
HPC High performance computing
HomeComputing centerHPC SoftwaresResearch and developmentCollaborations
 

High performance computing at CEA

High performance computing (HPC) for numerical simulation has become an essential tool in scientific and technological research, as well as for industrial applications. Simulation can replace experiments that are too dangerous (accidental situations), beyond reach in terms of time or scale (climate,  astrophysics) or banned (nuclear tests). Simulation is also time-saving and leverages productivity in many situations.

fond

CEA, a major player in research and innovation, has been recognized as an expert in HPC through the momentum of the "Simulation Programme" supported by its Direction des Applications Militaires (CEA / DAM) and implemented by the Department of Simulation Sciences and Information (DSSI).
The major challenges that the HPC will face in the coming years are manifold, such as the development of hardware and software architectures able to deliver very high computing power, modelling methods combining different scales and physical models and the management of huge volumes of numerical data.

The complexity of these issues has led CEA to identify the following strategic axes:

arrow6
 

the definition and implementation of computing resources relying on architectures that fulfil the high-end simulation requirements,

arrow6

the development of suited simulation software,

arrow6

a significant investment in terms of research and development.

   

To tackle these challenges, CEA relies on many collaborations with research organizations and with industrial partners in the field of HPC, through national and international projects.


Séminar SISMA
5, 12 september
Ter@tec



Publication on the Joliot-Curie big challenges

Agenda and speakers presentations


Inauguration of Joliot-Curie,
the French supercomputer dedicated to French and European research

 
August 2019

CEA
HPC Calcul haute performance
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
 

Le calcul haute performance au CEA

La simulation numérique par le calcul haute performance (HPC) est devenue un outil essentiel de la recherche scientifique, technologique et industrielle. Elle permet de remplacer les expériences qui ne peuvent être menées en laboratoire quand elles sont dangereuses (accidents), de longue durée (climatologie), inaccessibles (astrophysique) ou interdites (essais nucléaires). La simulation améliore également la productivité en procurant un gain de temps important.


Le CEA, acteur majeur en matière de recherche et d’innovation, est reconnu comme un expert du domaine HPC grâce à l’impulsion du « Programme Simulation » porté par sa Direction des applications militaires (CEA/DAM) et mis en œuvre par le Département des sciences de la simulation et de l’information (DSSI).
Les grands défis que le HPC doit relever dans les prochaines années sont multiples : développement d’architectures matérielles et logicielles permettant d’accéder aux très grandes puissances de calcul ; méthodes de modélisation couplant différentes échelles et modèles physiques ; maîtrise de très grands volumes de données.

La complexité des enjeux a conduit le CEA à identifier les axes stratégiques suivants :

arrow6
 

la définition et la mise en service de moyens de calculs disposant des architectures répondant aux besoins de la simulation,

arrow6

le développement des logiciels de simulation correspondants,

arrow6

un investissement important en terme de recherche et développement.

   
Pour relever ces défis, le CEA s’appuie également sur de nombreuses collaborations d’une part avec des organismes de recherche et d’autre part avec des partenaires industriels du domaine du HPC, à travers des projets nationaux et internationaux.
-
EXA1
Atos et le CEA lancent le supercalculateur EXA1

Mme Mariya Gabriel, Commissaire européenne, visite le TGCC

Des chercheurs du CEA font avancer la lutte contre la COVID19


Grands Challenges Joliot-Curie 2021


 
Novembre 2021