CEA
HPC High performance computing
HomeComputing centersSoftware for HPCResearch and developmentCollaborations
 
Collaborations / Summary

Collaborations

As a major French player in HPC, CEA and especially its DAM Ile-de-France teams are taking part in national and European activities and projects.

In particular, HPC CEA DAM teams are strongly engaged at the European leveL.  CEA is a PRACE hosting site and a founding member of ETP4HPC,  and participating in R&D projects of the H2020 Programme and now of the Joint Undertaking for High Performance Computing (EuroHPC JU), bringing together funds from the EC and from the Participating States.

 


European Initiatives

  • ETP4HPC - the European
    Technology Platform (ETP) for High-Performance Computing (HPC) - is an independent, industry-led and non-profit
    association. Its main mission is to promote European HPC research and innovation in order to maximise the economic and societal benefit of HPC for European science, industry and citizens. ETP4HPC is a private member of the EuroHPC JU, and suggests research priorities in the area of HPC technology and usage to EuroHPC via its Strategic Research Agenda (SRA).

    CEA is a founding member of the European Technology Platform ETP4HPC, and since then a member of its Steering Board.

  • PRACE, the Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe, is a permanent pan-European High Performance Computing service providing world-class systems for world-class science. Systems at the highest performance level (Tier-0) are deployed by Germany, France, Italy, Spain and Switzerland.
    The French Tier-0 HPC System “Joliot-Curie” which is hosted at TGCC, operated ty CEA teams, is funded and made available by GENCI and partly dedicated to PRACE.
    Moreover, CEA has been taking part in the EU-funded projects “PRACE Implementation Phase” since 2010, supporting PRACE deployment and related services.


European Projects (ongoing)

  • The Human Brain Project aims to put in place a cutting-edge research infrastructure that will allow scientific and industrial researchers to advance our knowledge in the fields of neuroscience, computing, and brain-related medicine. This project, which will end in 2023, is today led by Ebrains AISBL. Ebrains will continue to provide these services to the neuroscience and brain-related community after the end of the HBP project.

    CEA hosts the French HBP Node, and also offers computing services to the neuroscience communities in Europe at large.
     

  • FENIX
    ICEI / FENIX

    Interactive Computing
    E-Infrastructure for the Human Brain Project
     
  • As part of The Human Brain Project, ICEI/FENIX provides a specific compute infrastructure (machines and services) to the community. To achieve this, five leading European supercomputing centres teamed up to develop a set of services federated amongst the different sites, in order to provide a seamless infrastructure for the scientists, in line with their respective national programmes.
     
  • The SEA projects aim to drive further the vision shared by the Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC), CEA (the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission), Atos and ParTec, of the modular supercomputer architecture. The four core partners have gathered around them the best European skills, whether academic or industrial, to strengthen the European technologies that will equip the future European Exascale computers.
     

  • DEEP-SEA aims to improve the manageability and programmability of highly heterogeneous system architectures. DEEP-SEA is the natural continuation of the DEEP project series. It aims for easier programming of the Modular Supercomputer Architecture initiated by the DEEP-EST project – a concept that is already implemented in the JUWELS HPC system at the Forschungszentrum Jülich and in the EuroHPC MeluXina system in Luxembourg.

  • RED-SEA will look into the network interconnect - a potential bottleneck at the Exascale. It aims to extend and optimize the production-proven European interconnect BXI (BullSequana eXascale Interconnect) to make it capable to power the future European Exascale systems. As HPC systems increasingly need to interact securely with the outside world, including public clouds, edge servers or third party HPC systems, RED-SEA will also add a seamless interface with Ethernet. The project relies on technology developed within previous projects such as ExaNest and Mont-Blanc.

  • Sage2
    IO SEA

     
  • IO-SEA will cover the Input/Output and data management aspects that will help tackle the increased pressure on storage systems in the context of exascale systems. It aims to design and develop a novel management and storage platform based on object stores, allowing for hierarchical storage management (HSM) and on-demand provisioning of storage services. It leverages the results from the Sage, Sage 2 and Maestro projects.
     
     

  • The European Processor Initiative (EPI) is a project currently implemented under the first stage of the Framework Partnership Agreement signed by the Consortium with the European Commission (FPA: 800928), whose aim is to design and implement a roadmap for a new family of low-power European processors for extreme scale computing, high-performance Big-Data and a range of emerging applications.

  • EUPEX
    EUPEX

     
  • The EUPEX pilot brings together academic and commercial stakeholders to co-design a European modular Exascale-ready pilot system. Together, they will deploy a pilot hardware and software platform integrating the full spectrum of European technologies, and will demonstrate the readiness and scalability of these technologies, and particularly of the Modular Supercomputing Architecture (MSA), towards Exascale.

    EUPEX’s ambition is to support actively the European industrial ecosystem around HPC, as well as to prepare applications and users to efficiently exploit future European exascale supercomputers.
  • HPCQS
    HPCQS

     
  • HPCQS aims to develop, deploy and coordinate a European federated infrastructure, tightly integrating two quantum simulators each controlling about 100+ qubits (quantum bits) in the Tier-0 HPC systems Joliot Curie of GENCI (operated at CEA/TGCC) and the JUWELS modular supercomputer at JSC. The seamless integration of quantum hardware with classical computing resources, creating a hybrid system, is an essential step forward to utilize the power of quantum computers for handling first practical applications.
    The project started on December 1st , 2021, running for 4 years. The project is led by Prof. Kristel Michielsen of the Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC).

    CEA plays a major role in HPCQS: CEA will host one of the quantum simulators in its computing centre TGCC and will assure its integration with the existing HPC systems. Moreover, CEA will be very active in the development and adaptation of application and alogorithms to make full use of this new technology.

International collaborations

 
  • CEA/DAM/DIF has strong relations with its sister labs in the HPC field.


     
  • Riken
    RIKEN

     
  • Since 2002 CEA and RIKEN have been focusing on improving their supercomputing technologies and optimising a selection of scientific applications, in particular on ARM-based architectures. In the collaboration CEA/DIF/DSSI activities include, but are not limited to, programming languages and environments, performance evaluation, and system level features.


 
Joint laboratories  
 
National Projects  

 

  • "La Maison de la Simulation" is an entity involving regional partners (CEA, CNRS, Université d'Orsay and Université de Versailles - St Quentin), which is meant to motivate, support and stimulate the scientific communities to make the best usage of supercomputers, especially those deployed as part as GENCI and PRACE.
    In particular, "La Maison de la Simulation" coordinates the Center of Excellence in Energy EoCoE, and is also a partner of Coordination and support Action FocusCoE.

 

May 2021

CEA
HPC Calcul haute performance
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
 
Collaborations / En quelques mots

Collaborations

Acteur français majeur dans le domaine du HPC, le CEA et notamment ses équipes du centre DAM Ile-de-France participent à des projets et initiatives nationaux et européens.

Par ailleurs, les équipes HPC du CEA DAM sont fortement engagées au niveau européen. Le CEA est membre fondateur de PRACE et d'ETP4HPC, et participe à des projets R&D des programmes de recherche européens Horizon 2020Horizon Europe de la Commission européenne, et de l'Entreprise commune pour le calcul à haute performance (EuroHPC JU), rassemblant des fonds de la CE et des États participants.
 
Projets européens 

  • ETP4HPC – La plate-forme technologique européenne (ETP) pour le calcul haute performance (HPC) est une association indépendante, industrielle et à but non lucratif. Sa mission principale est de promouvoir la recherche et l'innovation HPC européennes afin de maximiser les avantages économiques et sociétaux du HPC pour la science, l'industrie et les citoyens. ETP4HPC est un membre privé de l'EuroHPC JU et recommande à EuroHPC des priorités de recherche dans le domaine de la technologie et de l'utilisation du HPC via  un agenda de recherche stratégique (SRA, Strategic Research Agenda).

    Le CEA est membre fondateur de la plateforme technologique européenne ETP4HPC, et membre de son comité de pilotage.
  • PRACE, le partenariat pour l'informatique avancée est le service permanent paneuropéen de calcul haute performance fournissant des systèmes de classe mondiale pour une science de classe mondiale. Des systèmes au niveau de performance le plus élevé (Tier-0) sont déployés par l'Allemagne, la France, l'Italie, l'Espagne et la Suisse.

    Le système français Ttier-0 HPC « Joliot Curie », hébergé et opéré dans les locaux du CEA au TGCC, est financé par GENCI et en partie dédié à PRACE.

    Par ailleurs, le CEA participe  aux projets financés par l'UE "PRACE Implementation Phase". Leurs objectifs sont de poursuivre le support à PRACE  et aux services que PRACE offre aux utilisateurs.


Projets européens (en cours)

  • Le "Human Brain Project" a pour objectif de mettre en place une infrastructure de recherche de pointe qui permettra aux chercheurs scientifiques et industriels de faire progresser les connaissances dans les domaines des neurosciences, de l'informatique et de la médecine du cerveau. Ce projet, qui s'achèvera en 2023, est aujourd'hui mené par Ebrains AISBL. Ebrains continuera à fournir ces services à la communauté des neurosciences et du cerveau après la fin du projet HBP.

    Le CEA héberge la composante française du projet et propose également des services informatiques aux communautés des neurosciences en Europe.
     

  • FENIX
    ICEI / FENIX

    Projet d'e-Infrastructure pour le "Human Brain Project"
     
  • Dans le cadre du "Human Brain Project", ICEI/FENIX fournit une infrastructure informatique spécifique (machines et services) à la communauté. Pour y parvenir, cinq grands centres européens de calcul intensif se sont associés pour développer un ensemble de services fédérés, le consortium des  différents sites fournissant une infrastructure homogène aux scientifiques, en cohérence avec leurs programmes nationaux respectifs.
     

  • Les projets SEA visent à faire avancer la vision partagée par le Jülich Supercomputing Center (JSC), le CEA (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives), Atos et ParTec, concernant l'architecture modulaire des supercalculateurs. Ces quatre partenaires clés ont réuni autour d'eux les meilleures compétences européennes, qu'elles soient académiques ou industrielles, pour renforcer les technologies européennes qui équiperont les futurs ordinateurs Exascale.

  • DEEP-SEA vise à améliorer la gestion et la programmation d'architectures système très hétérogènes. DEEP-SEA est la suite naturelle de la série de projets DEEP. Il vise à faciliter la programmation de l'architecture modulaire du supercalculateur initiée par le projet DEEP-EST – un concept déjà mis en œuvre dans le système JUWELS HPC au Forschungszentrum Jülich et dans le système EuroHPC MeluXina au Luxembourg.

  • RED-SEA explore le réseau d'interconnexion HPC - un goulot d'étranglement potentiel pour l'Exascale. Il vise à étendre et optimiser l'interconnect européen BXI (BullSequana eXascale Interconnect) pour le rendre capable d'alimenter les futurs systèmes européens Exascale. Comme les systèmes HPC ont de plus en plus besoin d'interagir en toute sécurité avec le monde extérieur, y compris les clouds publics, les serveurs de périphérie ou les systèmes HPC tiers, RED-SEA ajoutera également une interface transparente avec Ethernet. Le projet s'appuie sur une technologie développée dans le cadre de projets précédents tels que ExaNest et Mont-Blanc.


  • Sage2
    IO SEA

     
  • IO-SEA a pour objectif de couvrir les aspects d'entrée/sortie et de gestion des données qui aideront à faire face à la pression accrue sur les systèmes de stockage dans le contexte des systèmes exascale. Il vise à concevoir et à développer une nouvelle plateforme de gestion et de stockage basée sur des magasins d'objets, permettant la gestion hiérarchique du stockage (HSM) et la fourniture à la demande de services de stockage. Il s'appuie sur les résultats des projets Sage, Sage 2 et Maestro.
     

  • L'European Processor Initiative (EPI) est un projet mis en œuvre sous forme d'Accord-cadre de partenariat signé par le Consortium avec la Commission européenne (FPA : 800928). Son objectif est de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre une feuille de route pour une nouvelle famille de processeurs européens basse consommation pour le calcul à grande échelle, le Big Data hautes performances et une gamme d'applications émergentes.

  • EUPEX
    EUPEX

     
  • Le pilote EUPEX rassemble des acteurs académiques et commerciaux pour co-concevoir conjointement un système pilote européen modulaire pour preparer l’ Exascale. Ensemble, ils déploieront une plate-forme matérielle et logicielle intégrant des technologies européennes, en particulier l’architecture modulaire pour le HPC (Modular Supercomputing Architecture MSA), pour demontrer leur maturité et leur évolutivité vers l'Exascale.

    L'ambition d'EUPEX est de soutenir activement l'écosystème industriel européen autour du HPC, ainsi que de préparer les applications et les utilisateurs à exploiter efficacement les futurs supercalculateurs exascale européens.
  • HPCQS
    HPCQS

     
  • HPCQS vise à développer, déployer et coordonner une infrastructure fédérée européenne, intégrant étroitement deux simulateurs quantiques contrôlant chacun environ 100+ qubits (bits quantiques) dans les systèmes HPC de niveau 0 Joliot Curie de GENCI (exploité au CEA/TGCC) et le système modulaire JUWELS supercalculateur au JSC. L'intégration transparente du matériel quantique avec les ressources informatiques classiques, créant un système hybride, est une étape essentielle pour utiliser la puissance des ordinateurs quantiques pour gérer les premières applications pratiques.
    Le projet a débuté le 1er décembre 2021, pour une durée de 4 ans. Le projet est dirigé par Prof. Kristel Michielsen du Jülich Supercomputing Center (JSC).

    Le CEA joue un rôle majeur dans le HPCQS : le CEA hébergera l'un des simulateurs quantiques dans son centre de calcul TGCC et assurera son intégration avec les systèmes HPC existants. Par ailleurs, le CEA sera très actif dans le développement et l'adaptation d'applications et d'algorithmes pour tirer pleinement parti de cette nouvelle technologie.

Collaborations internationales

 
  • Le CEA/DAM/DIF entretient d'étroites relations avec ses homologues dans le domaine du HPC.


     
  • Riken
    RIKEN

     
  • Depuis 2002 le CEA et RIKEN collaborent autour de leurs technologies de supercalcul, et sur l’optimisation de diverses applications scientifiques, en particulier sur architectures ARM. Dans le cadre de cette collaboration, le CEA/DIF/DSSI travaille notamment sur les environnements et langages de programmation, l’évaluation de performances et les aspects système.



  Laboratoires communs  

 

Projets nationaux 

 

 

  • "La Maison de la Simulation" est une entité impliquant des partnenaires nationaux ou régionaux (CEA, CNRS, Université d'Orsay et Université de Versailles - St Quentin), qui vise à motiver, soutenir et stimuler les communautés scientifiques pour tirer le meilleur parti des supercalculateurs , notamment ceux déployés dans le cadre du projet européen GENCI et PRACE. En particulier, La Maison de la Simulation coordonne le Centre d'Excellence en Energie européen EoCoE, elle est également partenaire de l’Action de Coordination et d'Accompagnement FocusCoE.

 

Mai 2021