CEA
HPC High performance computing
HomeComputing centersSoftware for HPCResearch and developmentCollaborations
Computing centers / EXA

EXA

Commissioned at the end of 2021, the first partition of the new EXA1 supercomputer, called “CEA-HF”, is based on Atos BullSequana XH2000 product.

This partition is equipped with 12,960 AMD processors, i.e. 829,440 computing cores. Particularly competitive, EXA1 has a computing power of 23.2 petaflops and an energy consumption of 4.96 megawatts.

This new supercomputer is entirely cooled by water thanks to Atos patented DLC (Direct Liquid Cooling) solution, which uses lukewarm water for this purpose. With an energy efficiency indicator PUE~1 (Power Usage Effectiveness), EXA1 records the best performance on the market. This feature allows the CEA/DAM to effectively control its energy consumption, reduce its operations costs and benefit from processors with the highest computing power requirements.

CEA-HF also embeds the second generation of BullSequana eXascale Interconnect (BXI V2). Thanks to the complete hardware offloading of the communication mechanism in the BXI V2, the use of the processor is optimized and helps to prevent compute/communication interferences. Since the communication performance of HPC applications is improved by offloading, the processors can fully concentrate on the computational tasks, while the BXI V2 handles the communications independently. To ensure high communication performance, CEA-HF takes into account bandwidth, latencies and message rates.

Le  supercalculateur EXA1-HF à Bruyères-le-Châtel. Crédit CEA

Long-time partners, Atos and CEA/DAM have been working hand in hand since 2004. Fruit of the expertise of CEA/DAM and Atos HPC teams, EXA1 is the 4th supercomputer co-developed by the two organisations.

CEA
HPC Calcul haute performance
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
Complexe de calcul / Exa

EXA

Mis en service fin 2021, la première partition du nouveau supercalculateur EXA1, dénommée «CEA-HF», est basée sur le produit BullSequana XH2000 d’Atos.

Cette partition est dotée de 12 960 processeurs AMD, soit 829 440 cœurs de calcul. Particulièrement compétitif, EXA1 affiche une puissance de calcul de 23,2 pétaflops et une consommation d’énergie de 4,96 mégawatts.

Ce nouveau supercalculateur est entièrement refroidi par de l’eau grâce à la solution brevetée DLC (Direct Liquid Cooling) d’Atos qui utilise de l’eau tiède à cet effet. Avec un indicateur d’efficacité énergétique PUE~1 (Power Usage Effectiveness), EXA1 enregistre les meilleures performances du marché. Cette fonctionnalité permet au CEA/DAM de contrôler efficacement sa consommation d’énergie, de réduire ses coûts et de bénéficier de processeurs aux exigences les plus élevées en matière de puissance.

CEA-HF est basé sur la seconde génération de BullSequana eXascale Interconnect (BXI V2). Grâce au déchargement matériel complet du mécanisme de communication dans le BXI V2, l’utilisation du processeur est optimisée et permet de prévenir les interférences. Les performances de communication des applications HPC étant améliorées par le déchargement, les processeurs peuvent se concentrer pleinement sur les tâches de calcul tandis que le BXI V2 gère indépendamment les communications. Pour garantir des performances de communication élevées, CEA-HF tient compte de la bande passante, des latences et des taux de messages.

Le  supercalculateur EXA1-HF à Bruyères-le-Châtel. Crédit CEA

Partenaires de longue date, Atos et le CEA/DAM travaillent main dans la main depuis 2004. Fruit de l’expertise du CEA/DAM et de l’équipe HPC d’Atos, EXA1 est le 4ème supercalculateur co-développé par les deux entreprises.