CEA
HPC Calcul haute performance
HomeComputing centersSoftware for HPCResearch and developmentCollaborations
Computing centers / Tera

Tera

As part of its Simulation programme, the CEA’s Military Applications Department (DAM) defined the Tera project to procure the necessary simulation systems to enable nuclear weapons to be designed and guaranteed without performing real-life tests.
 
The first stage, Tera-1, culminated in the installation, in late 2001, of a 5-teraflop supercomputer built and supplied by HP.



The second stage, Tera-10, saw the installation of a 60-teraflop supercomputer supplied by the manufacturer Bull, in late 2005. The defence computing centre’s infrastructures were adapted and the data storage and archival systems, networks and visualisation tools were also completely overhauled during this stage.
 
With the third stage of the programme, Tera-100, the CEA/DAM has had access to processing capacity in excess of 1 petaflop since October 2010. Tera 100 was Europe’s first petascale supercomputer, capable of processing more than a million billion operations per second.

Read more about Tera 100
 

Tera1000 is the fourth stage, initiated in late 2015, clearing the first technological obstacles to exaflop performance (i.e. 1 billion billion operations per second). Tera1000 is being commissioned in phases, delivering 25-Pflop processing power in 2017 - a 20-fold increase over Tera100 with equivalent electric power consumption. It will be a forerunner to the Exa1 exascale computer, which is scheduled to begin operating by 2020, once again to serve the requirements of the Simulation programme.

Le  supercalculateur Tera 1000-1 à Bruyères-le-Châtel. Crédit CEA Le  supercalculateur Tera 1000-1 à Bruyères-le-Châtel. Crédit CEA
Tera 1000-1 supercomputer, Bruyères-le-Châtel. © CEA

The Tera computing centre hosts computers, “big data” storage systems, broadband communication systems and post-processing and visualisation systems. While operating these resources, constant efforts are made to enhance energy efficiency and minimise environmental impacts.

1 Teraflop = one thousand billion operations per second
1 Petaflop = one million billion operations per second

 
 


 

Building the architecture for HPC

Controlling data flow

 

Towards a very high bite rate network

 

Optimizing energy consumption

CEA
HPC Calcul haute performance
AccueilComplexe de calculLogiciels pour le HPCRecherche et developpementsCollaborations
Complexe de calcul / Tera

Tera

Dans le cadre de son programme Simulation, la Direction des applications militaires du CEA  a défini un projet, nommé Tera, visant à disposer des moyens de simulation nécessaires à la conception et à la garantie des armes nucléaires sans essais.
 
La première étape Tera-1, a abouti à l’installation fin 2001 d’un supercalculateur de 5 Teraflops fourni par le constructeur HP.

La deuxième étape Tera-10, a abouti fin 2005 à l’installation d'un supercalculateur de 60 Teraflops fourni par le constructeur Bull. Cette étape a aussi conduit à une adaptation des infrastructures du centre de calcul défense ainsi qu’à une rénovation complète des systèmes de stockage, d’archivage, des réseaux et des dispositifs de visualisation.
 
La troisième étape Tera-100, a permis depuis octobre 2010 au CEA/DAM de disposer d’une puissance de calcul de plus d'1 Petaflops. Tera 100 fut le premier supercalculateur européen à avoir passé la barre du Petaflops, soit une capacité de calcul de plus d’un million de milliards d’opérations par seconde.

Démarrant fin 2015, Tera1000 a constitué la quatrième étape, lèvant les premiers verrous technologiques de l’Exaflops (1 milliard de milliard d’opérations par seconde). Tera1000 a été mis en service par parties pour atteindre fin 2017 une puissance de calcul de 25 Pflops, soit 20 fois supérieure à Tera100 pour une même consommation énergétique. Il a été le précurseur de la machine de classe exaflopique Exa1, dont la mise en service est prévue à horizon 2020, qui répond également aux enjeux du programme Simulation.

Pour en savoir plus sur Tera 1000

Le  supercalculateur Tera 1000-1 à Bruyères-le-Châtel. Crédit CEA
Le supercalculateur Tera 1000-2.2 à Bruyères-le-Châtel. © CEA

Le centre de calcul Tera est constitué de calculateurs, de systèmes de stockage de données de très grande capacité, de réseaux de communications haut débit et d’équipements de post-traitement et de visualisation… L’ensemble de ces moyens est mis en œuvre dans un souci constant d’amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique et de l’impact environnemental.

1 Teraflops = mille milliards d'opérations par seconde
1 Petaflops = un million de milliards d'opérations par seconde